1. Makes recommendations regarding districtwide policies, administrative rules, and procedures related to academic and student affairs.
  2. Reviews all relevant administrative rules in accordance with Administrative Rule 2.0800.01.
  3. Responds to recommendations from committees/task forces that report to the Council.
  4. Communicates interests and concerns of staff and constituency groups to the appropriate entity.
  5. Promotes opportunities for student leadership and participation in the shared governance process at the college.

Committee recommendations are forwarded to the Chancellor.

Visit the ASAC Site

Meeting Schedule and Frequency

HLC; virtual meetings further notice, 10 a.m. – noon
1st Friday (generally)

October 6
November 3
December 1
February 2
March 1
April 5
May 3
June 7
Academic & Student Affairs Council Meeting Schedule & Frequency


Co-chair: Dr. Gaye Lynn Scott, Vice Chancellor, Instruction, 512-223-7579,
Co-chair:  Dr. Shasta Buchanan, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs, 512-223-7056,

PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail
AVC, Academic ProgramsVC,
DeanDr. Giao PhanVC,
DeanDr. David FonkenVC,
AVC, Workforce ProgramsDr. Gretchen RiehlVC,
Executive Dean, Access & Disability SupportRosalind BlackstarVC, Student
AVC, Enrollment ManagementDorado KinneyVC, Student
Executive Dean, North RegionMeritza TamezVC, Student
Specialist, AoS AdvisingTrisha KahanVC, Student
Regional Manager, Student LifeKelly BrownVC, Student
Associate Director, Financial Aid & Veterans OutreachBelinda PeñaVC, Student
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Dr. Nancy
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Dr. Joansandy
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Juan
FT Faculty (one from different dean areas)Job
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Wendy ElleVC,
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Marcus McQuirterVC,
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Alberto QuinonezVC,
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Lisa Marie Coppoletta (LMC)
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Charity
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Amber
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE)Jose
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE)Ramon
Classified Employee Association (CEA)Susan
Classified Employee Association (CEA)Eli
VC, InstructionDr. Gaye Lynn ScottPosition (Co-Chair)
VC, Student AffairsDr. Shasta BuchananPosition (Co-Chair)
AVC, Student Support ServicesDr. Ruth ReinhartVC Student
ProvostDr. Monique
Student Government AssociationNivedita Anandaraman KalaSGAN/AN/
Executive Dean, Admissions, Enrollment & CompletionLinda TerryVC, Student
AVC, Student Accessibility & Social Support ResourcesGinger BennettVC, Student