1. Makes recommendations regarding districtwide policies, administrative rules, and procedures related to academic and student affairs.
  2. Reviews all relevant administrative rules in accordance with Administrative Rule 3.03.011.
  3. Responds to recommendations from committees/task forces that report to the Council.
  4. Communicates interests and concerns of staff and constituency groups to the appropriate entity.
  5. Promotes opportunities for student leadership and participation in the shared governance process at the college.

Committee recommendations are forwarded to the Chancellor.

Visit the ASAC Site

Meeting Schedule and Frequency

HBC; virtual meetings further notice, 10 a.m. – noon
1st Friday (generally)

October 7
November 4
December 2
February 3
March 3 (1-3 p.m.)
April 7
May 5
June 2
Academic & Student Affairs Council Meeting Schedule & Frequency


Co-chair: Mike Midgley, Vice Chancellor, Instruction, 512-223-7579,
Co-chair:  Dr. Shasta Buchanan, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs, 512-223-7056,

PositionNameAppointed byCampusPhoneEmail
AVC, Academic ProgramsDr. Gaye Lynn ScottVC,
DeanDr. Giao PhanVC,
DeanDr. David FonkenVC,
AVC, Workforce ProgramsDr. Gretchen RiehlVC,
Executive Dean, Central RegionHolly Delacroix-DeRouen VC, Student
AVC, Enrollment ManagementDorado KinneyVC, Student
Director, AdvisingKathy JamesVC, Student
Director, Student Affairs CommunicationsAna RummerVC, Student
Supervisor, Student LifeKelly BrownVC, Student
Regional Director, Financial Aid Campus Operations/OutreachCourtney VasquezVC, Student
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Dr. Nancy
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Dr. Joansandy
FT Faculty (One from different dean areas)Dr. LaKisha
FT Faculty (one from different dean areas)Courtney
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Wendy LymVC,
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Marcus McQuirterVC,
Department Chairs (One from different dean areas)Dr. Alberto QuinonezVC,
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Don
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Christie
Adjunct Faculty Association (AFA)Amber
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE)Jose
Association of Professional-Technical Employees (APTE)Natalia
Classified Employee Association (CEA)Susan
Classified Employee Association (CEA)Eli
VC, InstructionMike MidgleyPosition (Co-Chair)
VC, Student AffairsDr. Shasta BuchananPosition (Co-Chair)
AVC, Student Support ServicesDr. Ruth ReinhartVC Student
ProvostDr. Monique
Student Government AssociationAlexander Leon-HernandezSGAN/AN/
Executive Dean, Admissions, Enrollment & CompletionLinda TerryVC, Student
AVC, Student Accessibility & Social Support ResourcesSteve ChristopherVC, Student