For the third time in five years, Austin Community College District (ACC) is recognized as a top producer of Fulbright Scholars. The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs released its 2023-24 list on Tuesday, February 13. 

ACC is recognized as one of the Associate and baccalaureate/associate institutions nationwide to be awarded the distinction. Only one other institution in Texas also was honored in this category.

“This achievement reflects the dedication and talent of our faculty and acknowledges ACC’s incredible work on behalf of students,” says Dr. Russell Lowery-Hart, ACC Chancellor. “ACC is committed to transforming higher education and loving our students to success. The Fulbright program represents the level of academic excellence at ACC. Our faculty members are at the heart of this, guiding students with love and expertise towards success.”

The Fulbright Program is sponsored by the State Department’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs to support academic exchanges between the United States and over 150 countries worldwide. The Fulbright U.S. Scholars Program offers teaching and research grants for college faculty, administrators, and other scholars.

“Fulbright’s Top Producing Institutions represent the diversity of America’s higher education community,” says Lee Satterfield, Assistant U.S. Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs. “Dedicated administrators support students and scholars at these institutions to fulfill their potential and rise to address tomorrow’s global challenges. We congratulate them, and all the Fulbrighters who are making an impact the world over.”  

Fulbright alumni work to make a positive impact on their communities, sectors, and the world and have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 80 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders and changemakers who build mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries.    

The following ACC faculty members have been awarded Fulbright grants to conduct projects abroad:

  • Maria Cisneros-Solis, Education, Ecuador, 1986-1987 and 1989-1990
  • Dr. William Montgomery, History, Lesotho, 1989-1990
  • Edward Lundy, Area Studies, Jordan, 2003-2004
  • Dr. Kathryn Frost, Psychology, Romania, 2004-2005
  • Dr. Shannon Bailey, ESOL, Vietnam, 2008-2009
  • Dr. Elizabeth Pintar, Social Sciences, Argentina, 2011-2012
  • Dr. Samuel Echevarria-Cruz, Sociology, Romania, 2015-2016
  • Jill Brockmann, Business, Denmark, 2015-2016
  • Dr. Blanca Alvarado, Sociology, Costa Rica, 2018-2019
  • Dr. Heather Barfield, Drama, France, 2019-2020
  • Kusali Gamage Sooriarachchi, Geology, Sri Lanka, 2023-2024

More than 900 Fulbright Scholars grants are awarded annually to fund research or teaching abroad for up to one year.

For more information, visit